Our City Online

Civics / Politics

Incumbent Democrats Unseated in Franklin County Primary

Lauren Sega Lauren Sega Incumbent Democrats Unseated in Franklin County PrimaryDallas Baldwin (left) and Kevin Boyce (right).
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Incumbent Zach Scott lost the Democratic primary for Franklin Country Sheriff to Dallas Baldwin, former Lieutenant for the Columbus Police Department.

Supporters and members of the Democratic party’s Unity ticket celebrated Baldwin’s Tuesday night win, saying “There’s a new sheriff in town.”

Baldwin won 52 percent of the vote, making it the second defeat for Scott in less than a year. Because Baldwin doesn’t face an opponent, he’ll be sheriff after the November election.

In the mayoral race last year Scott ran without support from the Franklin County Democratic Party (FCDP) and lost to the party favorite, Andrew Ginther. Scott’s supporters: County Commissioner Paula Brooks and County Recorder Terry “TJ” Brown were also unseated after running without party support.

Brooks, Brown and Scott were part of some intense intraparty drama that threatened a complete party overhaul. In order to silence any dissent, the FCDP organized the “Unity” ticket, featuring Baldwin, Kevin Boyce and local attorney Danny O’Connor.

All three on the Unity ticket celebrated victories, ousting the incumbents and guaranteeing a more unified local party. Boyce beat Brooks, 57 percent to 42 percent, and O’Connor defeated Brown, 56 percent to 44 percent.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


politics categories

Subscribe below:

Support Journalism. Drink Coffee!

We’ve partnered with our friends at Stauf’s to bring you this limited-edition coffee blend celebrating 20 years of CU! Every purchase supports our mission of serving the community award-winning local journalism!