Our City Online

Messageboard - Q&A

NOTE: You are viewing an archived version of the Columbus Underground forums/messageboard. As of 05/22/16 they have been closed to new comments and replies, but will remain accessible for archived searches and reference. For more information CLICK HERE

Thinking of buying a house - a little overwhelmed

Home Forums General Columbus Discussion Q&A Thinking of buying a house – a little overwhelmed

• This topic has 53 replies, 34 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by peter.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 54 total)
  • Author

susank

I have been living in Columbus since I graduated from OSU about 6 years ago. I have been renting in Grandview the entire time. I had thought I would leave Columbus after graduated but I like it here.

I have recently started getting the itch to buy a home. I make about $38k a year and have been told you should not spend more than 2.5 times your income on a house. That would make my budget about $114K. I have about $6k in savings to put down.

I am wondering what are the pitfalls of buying a house and also if anyone has anything to say regarding areas etc. I feel like a fish out of water as there seems to so much to choose from and so many pros and cons. I am sure many of you have seen both the good and bad.

I attempted to purchase a foreclosed HUD house in Old Town East recently but was out bid. I was really bummed by that as it was in really nice condition. I am thinking HUD or foreclosed homes will have the best value, but they vary widely in areas and condition.

At my price range I am thinking I may want to purchase in an up and coming area as I do not think my budget would get me much in Clintonville or Grandview. I really am looking for a house and not a condo.

As I am sure many of you have started in similar situations I would greatly appreciate any advice or insight you could share!

Thank you!

joev
    Participant