Messageboard - General Columbus Discussion

NOTE: You are viewing an archived version of the Columbus Underground forums/messageboard. As of 05/22/16 they have been closed to new comments and replies, but will remain accessible for archived searches and reference. For more information CLICK HERE

Goodale Park

Home Forums General Columbus Discussion Goodale Park

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 37 total)
  • Author
    Manatee
    Manatee
    Participant

There was a giant hackberry tree in Goodale Park which fell down in the big storm, this was in the northwest corner. It had lain there for quite a while, even after most of the other tree casualties had been removed.

Well, the other day I walked by and it was all gone, and in it’s place… lots and lots of staked and tied baby trees all over the hill!! Kudos to Goodale Park volunteers. I wonder what kind(s) of tree they are, I can’t tell because I’m not that good at winter (leafless) ID.

Thanks to whoever went out in the cold and did all that planting.

On a stranger note… has anyone noticed that the southeast corner of the park, across from the Greek church, it always smells… well, really bad? It’s not sewer smell, it smells like garbage or rotting. Like old library paste. It literally smells like that year ’round. My sister and I have both noticed it, we cover our noses when we walk through there. I’ve also noticed that the grass around the sidewalk there never recovered from Comfest (you can still see the outlines of the booths), and… I’ve seen some little roach friends, too . :oops: I’ve looked to see if there are any dumpsters nearby, nope. I know it seems weird to mention it, but it doesn’t seem… healthy.

So: thanks for the baby trees, do you know what that smell is, haha?

NerosNeptune
    Participant