Our City Online

Messageboard - Q&A

NOTE: You are viewing an archived version of the Columbus Underground forums/messageboard. As of 05/22/16 they have been closed to new comments and replies, but will remain accessible for archived searches and reference. For more information CLICK HERE

Columbus Speeding Tickets

Home Forums General Columbus Discussion Q&A Columbus Speeding Tickets

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author

elliemae13

Does anyone have experience successfully fighting speeding tickets and would like to share come advice?

I’m an OSU student with no prior offenses considering fighting my speeding ticket. The cop was waiting on my road and I got pulled over a block from my home. I honestly don’t believe I was speeding and there is no posted speed limit. The officer incorrectly listed the make of my car, which makes me think she was either rushed or not very observant. Maybe she didn’t take very detailed notes either?

I’m considering asking for discovery to obtain her notes and calibrations. Do you think it would be beneficial to reschedule my court date to a day she has off?

kjr
    Participant

The fact that there is no posted speed limit doesn’t matter. There are established speed limits that are in effect unless a lower limit is stated. If you took driver’s ed, they should have gone over that. http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/4511.21v1

Avoid the court costs and just pay the ticket. “I honestly don’t believe I was speeding” doesn’t cut it in court.

lattethunder
    Participant