Our City Online

Messageboard - Q&A

NOTE: You are viewing an archived version of the Columbus Underground forums/messageboard. As of 05/22/16 they have been closed to new comments and replies, but will remain accessible for archived searches and reference. For more information CLICK HERE

Char siu or pork steam buns - where to find?

Home Forums General Columbus Discussion Q&A Char siu or pork steam buns – where to find?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 29 total)
  • Author

jn4jenny

I’m new to Columbus and looking for chinese barbecued pork (preferably the kind with the red outer crust but will take the brown variety too). I tried CAM Asian Market and they didn’t seem to have it.

Also looking for steamed pork buns, sometimes called char siu bao (has the above-mentioned red pork inside as filling). Would also take suggestions for places that make the baked pork bun variety as those places will often steam on request if you order ahead.

I had a passable cousin to the char siu bao yesterday at Ichiban Bakery (near Tensuke off Henderson Road), but it wasn’t quite the way they do it in Hawaii.

Thanks so much for the help!

shmack

CAM definitely has bbq pork. look in the second room with all the prepared food. crestview in clintonville also roasts their own (duck too!). as for the buns… try golden delight, the strawberry cake place on bethel (i think, or 161? i can’t remember).

you can find locations and hours for all of these businesses on yelp.

DavidF
    Participant

I would try Golden Delight Bakery in Gahanna. Also I know Crestview Market in Clintonville sells frozen buns and Char siu.

Of course you could always go to Lee Garden or Sunflower for Dim Sum.

Edit: And I should have read the previous post to see that Crestview has already been mentioned.

JonMyers
    Participant

Would be awesome if there were a mobile food truck dedicated to steamed buns.

berry