Our City Online

Messageboard - Q&A

NOTE: You are viewing an archived version of the Columbus Underground forums/messageboard. As of 05/22/16 they have been closed to new comments and replies, but will remain accessible for archived searches and reference. For more information CLICK HERE

book re-binding and restoration

Home Forums General Columbus Discussion Q&A book re-binding and restoration

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

zachgs
    Participant

Hi everyone,

I did a google search but had mixed results, so I figured I would turn to CU. I’m received an old book from the 1940’s that was my grandfather’s. The book is overall in good shape but the binding is coming apart. Can anyone recommend a good shop to repair/restore the binding? I’m not sure if it would just need to be completely rebound or what would need to be done as I have never done this before.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Zach

rustbelt
    Participant

OHgoshKate

I went to Beck and Orr on West Broad to get a book from the 1970’s re-bound and they did a wonderful job. I was surprised that it only cost $40 or so to get it fixed. Just to warn you though, its a rather hole-in-the wall type of shop that doesn’t take credit cards or have a clearly marked entrance. But they were friendly!

zachgs
    Participant

Thanks!

I came across the book binding courses but this book is important to me and I’d rather not use it as my trial run for learning to bind books. Maybe sometime in the future :)

Twixlen
    Participant

I would second Beck and Orr – the shop is in a little strip of zero set back shops along West Broad, west of Hague. I haven’t used them myself, but know some folks who have, and they were extremely pleased with the work they did.

They actually have a site – http://www.beckandorr.com

AmyD
    Participant

you can also try igloo letterpress. http://www.iglooletterpress.com

Lorence
    Participant