Our City Online


DeWine to Succeed Kasich as Next Ohio Governor, and Other Election Results

Lauren Sega Lauren Sega DeWine to Succeed Kasich as Next Ohio Governor, and Other Election ResultsPhoto via www.mikedewine.com.
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

What many political strategists were predicting would be a “blue wave” looks more like a blue tide, particularly here in Ohio.

The GOP has successfully defended the governor’s office. Mike DeWine beat Democrat Richard Cordray by 5 points, 51 to 46 percent. The same goes for Attorney General; Republican Dave Yost will succeed DeWine, winning over Democrat Steve Dettelbach, 52 to 48 percent.

Republican Frank LaRose won 51 percent of the vote over Democrat Kathleen Clyde and will become the state’s next Secretary of State. And Republican Keith Faber has claimed a victory in the race for State Auditor, obtaining a 4 point lead over Democrat Zack Space, 50 to 46 percent.

In the House, Troy Balderson has kept the District 12 seat he won back in August, winning over O’Connor 52 to 47 percent. Democrat Joyce Beatty has also kept her District 3 seat, winning by more than 40 points against Republican challenger Jim Burgess. In District 15, Republican Steve Stivers has claimed victory over Democrat Rick Neal, winning by 19 points.

State Issue 1, a ballot measure that would lower drug crimes related to possession and use to misdemeanors and redirect prison funding, was overwhelmingly rejected by voters, losing 63 to 37 percent.

Democrats fared better in Franklin County.

Marilyn Brown had an easy win over Republican Michele Reynolds for the County Commissioner seat, winning 65 to 35 percent. And Councilmember Michael Stinziano will replace Clarence Mingo as County Auditor in 2019, leaving an open seat on Columbus City Council for another potential appointment.

Stinziano’s will be one of two empty seats in Council next year, as Councilmember Jaiza Page moves on as Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. She won over Bill Creedon, 61 to 39 percent. Both Stinziano and Page have served two years on City Council.

Kim Brown and Carl Aveni have also won their races for the Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. And in the domestic relations division, James W. Brown, Terri Jamison and Monica Hawkins have all been voted in as Judge of the Court of Common Pleas.

Issue 3, a proposed .95-mill levy benefitting the Franklin County Metro Parks, has passed, with voters approving the measure 67 to 33 percent.

For more information, visit vote.franklincountyohio.gov.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


features categories

The 6th Annual Columbus Dessert Festival Returns!