Our City Online


Central Ohio Film Critics Pick Best of 2014

Hope Madden Hope Madden Central Ohio Film Critics Pick Best of 2014Photo via Selma Movie Facebook Page.
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

The Central Ohio Film Critics Association (COFCA) announced its choices for best in film, 2014 last night at a private awards ceremony held at the Gateway Film Center. It was the 13th such gathering of Columbus-area film critics, aimed at recognizing excellence in film, from acting to writing, cinematography to break out performance, foreign language to documentary to body of work and then some.

This year’s big winner was Selma, with five honors. Other multi-award winners include the indie horror pic The Babadook, Wes Anderson’s showstopping The Grand Budapest Hotel, and the tense and underseen Whiplash.

Founded in 2002, the Central Ohio Film Critics Association comprises film critics based in Columbus, Ohio and the surrounding areas. Its membership consists of 21 print, radio, television, and internet critics. COFCA’s official website at www.cofca.org contains links to member reviews and past award winners.

Complete list of awards:

Best Film

  1. Selma
  2. Whiplash
  3. Snowpiercer
  4. The Grand Budapest Hotel
  5. Nightcrawler
  6. Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  7. The Imitation Game
  8. Boyhood
  9. A Most Violent Year
  10. 10. Gone Girl

Best Director

-Ava DuVernay, Selma

-Runner-up: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Actor

-David Oyelowo, Selma

-Runners-up: Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler and Michael Keaton, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Best Actress

-Essie Davis, The Babadook

-Runner-up: Scarlett Johansson, Under the Skin

Best Supporting Actor

-J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

-Runners-up: Josh Brolin, Inherent Vice and Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher

Best Supporting Actress

-Tilda Swinton, Snowpiercer

-Runner-up: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Ensemble

The Grand Budapest Hotel

-Runners-up: Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and Foxcatcher

Actor of the Year (for an exemplary body of work)

-Jake Gyllenhaal, Enemy, and Nightcrawler

-Runner-up: Tilda Swinton, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Only Lovers Left Alive, Snowpiercer, and The

Zero Theorem

Breakthrough Film Artist

-Ava DuVernay, Selma (for directing)

-Runner-up: Jennifer Kent, The Babadook (for directing and screenwriting)

Best Cinematography

-Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel

-Runner-up: Daniel Landin, Under the Skin

Best Film Editing

-Tom Cross, Whiplash

-Runner-up: Douglas Crise and Stephen Mirrione, Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)

Best Adapted Screenplay

-Graham Moore, The Imitation Game

-Runner-up: Bong Joon-ho and Kelly Masterson, Snowpiercer

Best Original Screenplay

-Paul Webb, Selma

-Runner-up: Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Score

-Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel

-Runner-up: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, Gone Girl

Best Documentary

Finding Vivian Maier

-Runner-up: Citizenfour

Best Foreign Language Film

We Are the Best! (Vi är bäst!)

-Runner-up: Ida

Best Animated Film

– The LEGO Movie

– Runner-up: Big Hero 6

Best Overlooked Film

The Babadook

-Runner-up: Edge of Tomorrow

For more information about the Central Ohio Film Critics Association, please visit www.cofca.org or e-mail [email protected]. You can also follow COFCA on facebook.

The complete list of members and their affiliations:

Richard Ades (Columbus Free Press); Kevin Carr (www.7mpictures.com,FilmSchoolRejects.com); Bill Clark (www.fromthebalcony.com); Olie Coen (Archer Avenue,DVD Talk); John DeSando (90.5 WCBE); Frank Gabrenya (The Columbus Dispatch); James Hansen (Out 1 Film Journal); Nicholas Herum (Columbus Underground;Movies Hate You Too); Brad Keefe (Columbus Alive); Kristin Dreyer Kramer (NightsAndWeekends.com, 90.5 WCBE); Joyce Long (Freelance); Rico Long (Freelance); Hope Madden (Columbus Underground andMaddWolf.com); Paul Markoff (WOCC-TV3; Otterbein TV); David Medsker (Bullz-Eye.com); Lori Pearson (Kids-in-Mind.com,critics.com); Mark Pfeiffer (Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema; WOCC-TV3; Otterbein TV); Melissa Starker (Columbus Alive, The Columbus Dispatch); George Wolf (Columbus Radio Group andMaddWolf.com); Jason Zingale (Bullz-Eye.com); Nathan Zoebl (PictureShowPundits.com).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


entertainment categories

Subscribe below: