Our City Online


2020 General Election Results

Taijuan Moorman Taijuan Moorman 2020 General Election ResultsPhoto by Casey Wagner.
Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Ohioans turned out in record numbers for the 2020 General Election with nearly 6 million votes cast, despite a global pandemic and rampant disinformation surrounding the election.

As of Wednesday morning, over 609,000 Franklin County residents cast a ballot — nearly 70% of registered voters. Over half of that total voted absentee.

Now, the unofficial results of the November 3 general election are in, mostly. Over 52,000 Franklin County ballots are still outstanding. But to sum up, Central Ohioans voted largely in favor of Democratic candidates, while Ohioans at large favored Republican candidates, including President Donald Trump in the presidential race.

Franklin County residents voted largely in favor of Issue 24, the Alcohol, Drug, and Mental Health tax renewal and increase to fund programs. Columbus residents largely voted in favor of Issue 1, the city’s electric service aggregation program measure, and Issue 2, to create a Civilian Police Review Board.

Former Court of Appeals Judge Gary Tyack won the Franklin County prosecuting attorney race against Republican incumbent Ron O’Brien, who has held the office for over two decades.

Republican Ohio Supreme Court Judge Sharon Kennedy won reelection to the court, while Judge Jennifer Brunner (D) won election to the court against current Ohio Supreme Court Judge Judi French (R).

Republican Stephanie Kunze may win an extremely narrow race over Democratic challenger Crystal Lett for the Ohio Senate’s 16th District. Kunze is currently ahead by 41 votes.

Few other races featured major changes.

For Congress, Democratic incumbent Rep. Joyce Beatty won reelection against Republican challenger Mark Richardson for Ohio’s Third District, and Republican incumbent Troy Balderson won against Democratic challenger Alaina Shearer for the 12th District. Republican incumbent Steve Stivers won reelection for the 15th District.

Central Ohio state representative races have also largely favored incumbents. Republican Laura Lanese also won reelection for the Ohio House of Representatives’ 23rd District, while Democrats Mary Lightbody, Adam Miller, Kristin Boggs, Richard Brown, Beth Liston, and Allison Russo won reelection for the 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, and 24th districts, respectively.

Democrat and newcomer Dontavius Jarrells won the seat for the Ohio House of Representatives’ 25th District, replacing current incumbent Democrat Bernadine Kennedy Kent.

Republicans, however, were able to maintain supermajorities in both state legislative chambers.

County Commissioners Kevin Boyce and John O’Grady won reelection, as did County Treasurer Cheryl Brooks Sullivan.

Democrats Terri Jamison, Michael Mentel, Carl Aveni, Andy Miller, and Sheryl Munson won their elections for the Ohio Tenth District Court of Appeals, while Democrats David Young and Chris Brown won reelection to the court.

Democrats George Leach and Lasheyl Stroud won their races for the court’s Domestic Violence Division, and nonpartisan candidate Jeffrey Mackey won his race for the Probate Division against Republican incumbent Judge Robert Montgomery.

Grandview Heights voted in favor of Issue 8, a tax levy renewal, while Minerva Park voted in favor of its own tax levy. Westerville voted in favor of Issue 12, a charter amendment. Grove City also voted in favor of electric service aggregation.

Pickerington residents voted for the Pickerington Local School District bond issue, while the Gahanna Jefferson City School District bond issue and tax levy are still too close to call.

Other races included positions on the State Board of Education, local tax and fire levies, local options, and more.

For more unofficial local election results, visit vote.franklincountyohio.gov/elections. For unofficial state election results, visit liveresults.ohiosos.gov.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


features categories

Subscribe below: