I can't be the only artist-person who's been hit by this...
So, this evening I receive this email:
**This following message was sent to you by a person who found your artwork on Artists Space's Artists File Online website. http://www.artistsspace.org/artistsfile Please report any problems or concerns regarding this email to artfile@artistsspace.orgHello,
I\'m the secretary of Curtis Rowland Artwork Images Auction, Residence in New York We do buy artwork from artists around the world and later place it on Auction.One of our customers requested for your artwork posted on artistsspace.org , The first posted pix on the site .Kindly send me pics of this item and let me know it current condition and the last price you can let go of this item.
Shipping will be taken care by us to make it easier for you.
Awaiting your reply
Secretary
Mary
So.... yeah. I suspect it's a scam because of the grammar, the hotmail.uk account, and that I can't find any info about this auction house. But not one to miss a potential sale, I tells em the work is indeed for sale on my website & can be purchased via PayPal, (major credit cards accepted).
30 minutes later (at 10:30 PM), I get this:
Hello,Thanks for the response,I've talk my boss and we are okay with the price and pics .I will include the Shipping funds which you will have to remmite to the shipping agent to prepare all export related document and insurance for the shipment since they are also picking up other stock for my company Canada. You can contact the shipping company at shipping@alliedpersonnelsvcinc.co.uk
and their website is http://www.alliedpersonnelsvcinc.co.uk
Kindly send me your full address and the name to input on the Certified Cashier check i mean your name to be written on the Certified Cashier check including your contact phone number thanks.
Pls needed this very urgent so that we could deliver it to our client in a swift
Secretary
Mary
... this is what the kids call a 419 scam. The website they want me to contact is blacklisted as a scammy scam website info here. You know these scams best as them there Nigerian email scams, or 'you've won the lotto' scams.
I've gotten emails like this before a couple years ago. Last time they were from Nigeria, and they wanted to buy some paintings, and have me receive a check from a 'business associate' in the states, deposit it into my checking account, and wire the rest to him. I told him no, and he was insistent as apparently the check was on it's way to me, and of course I told him to piss off. The check never arrived. About 3 months after this I got a similar email...
I've never heard of any other artist getting this crap, but I can't be the only one.
BTW, I told 'Mary' that I work for FedEx & will only use them, & if she wants to purchase the piece she can do so online, and I will send it out overnight for free if within the continental US (I offer free domestic shipping -w- my paintings anyway, but usually send em ground). I got no response, I guess their client didn't want it that badly.
So, there ya ar. :p




Launched in August 2010, TheMetropreneur.com is a local online resource devoted to small business development and entrepreneurship. Its aim is to tell the stories of Central Ohio's business community, foster regional economic development and assist entrepreneurs with its resource-heavy focus.